Walk the Talk

People of faith, including me, need to strive to literally practice what we preach.    It isn’t always easy, but it is important.  All people need to behave with integrity; and, since they are such role models, this is especially important for entertainers.

That is perhaps what bothers me the most about the recent controversy involving rapper Too $hort.  Last week XXLmag.com posted a video interview in which the rapper allegedly gave some rather offensive instructions to young men as to how to get women to have sex with them.  I did not see the video myself.  It was removed from the magazine’s website once the editor-in-chief learned of its content.  I did read some quotes from the interview.

Then I saw the magazine’s apology, which included a statement from the rapper.  In the statement, he claimed that he “was in Too $hort mode”, implying that his hip hop character is a separate identity.  He went on to say, “I would never advise a child or young man to do these things, it’s not how I get down.”  His statement concluded with these words of wisdom.  “If you’re a young man or a kid who looks up to me, don’t get caught up in the pimp, player, gangster hip-hop personas. Just be yourself.”

I understand that an entertainer may be called upon to “play a role” in public, but it cannot be an excuse for such bad behavior.  I will not fall for “it wasn’t me”.  If Too $hort really wants to give back to the community and help young people, as he claims, he might want to live his own advice.

8 thoughts on “Walk the Talk

  1. I agree, T. Cornel West often talks about the gangster inside him and his visits with his gangbanger family members, many of whom are in prison. However, his message is consistently liberating for everyone and demeaning for none. We all have some mischief, evil, and even violence inside us, I believe. Its what you do with it that counts, right? Especially as a public figure, if you’re glorifying your inner gangster and in the process hurting people or groups of people, you’re just being irresponsible.

  2. This is a crucial issue as these are folks who are influential on kids and teens. I thought your picking this as a topic was very apt, and your development clear and focused. Public figures have public responsibilities.

  3. Very true! For anyone, especially those in the “public eye” it is vital to ensure appropriate messages, especially where youth are concerned. It’s a cop-out to claim ‘oh that wasn’t really me. I didn’t mean it from me – that was my stage persona’. Kids won’t know the difference.

    Hey, for those of us (older?) who don’t routinely listen to contemporary rap, a picture of Too $hort would be beneficial. Plus, it would spruce up your blog 🙂

  4. I think part of the issue is that there is not a clear boundary between his “character” and him. I think about Sacha Baron Cohen- a comedian whose three characters Ali G, Borat, and Bruno are outrageous, politically incorrect, offensive to many, hysterical to more. Each persona is marked by a different accent, temperament, dress, etc. And then there is the man Sacha- who looks like Sacha when he is not in character.

    There are responsible ways to take on personas- even offensive personas- if one is trying to illustrate a socio-relational-political point. But then you put your “real” person clothes back on, and you engage in dialogue about what that persona is trying to communicate or accomplish in the world. That is the craft of the clown/court jester/artist.

    • I love your last point. There should be dialogue about what one is trying to communicate through the character. In this case, there might have been if he had actually been trying to communicate something. Thanks for taking this further for me.

  5. Great post that brings up a lot of important issues. I appreciate how you start off my talking about walking the talk not just as a religious leader, but as a prerequisite of being human. I appreciate that emphasis on working to live with integrity. Thanks! I think that your analysis of the controversy was good and I would love to have seen this video (even though I know it was really offensive) in order to understand the outrage that I am sure followed. Thanks for grappling with this tough topic. I look forward to reading more of your posts in the coming weeks 🙂

Leave a comment